-->

Meet Dr. Greg Snodgrass

Dr. Greg Snodgrass is the owner of North Florida Cataract Specialists and Vision Care and one of the states top cataract surgeons. Locals know him as a great family man and a true Gator fan. He is also one of the areas best dressed Docs!

Where are you from?

I was born and grew up in Gauley Bridge, West Virginia. I moved to Florida in 1987 to work for Dr. Marshall. Amazing to think that I just did cataract surgery
on his wife Jean.

Where did you go to school?

I went to undergrad school at West Virginia Institute of Technology in Montgomery, West Virginia, where I obtained a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering. I then went to medical school in Morgantown, West Virginia at West Virginia University. I then did a residency in ophthalmology at Ohio State University in Columbus, OH.

How do you relax?

I have gone through a lot of stress with the loss of my 25 year old son Nathan. I relax by exercising and by watching movies and series on Apple TV. I also relax
by spending time with family: my wife, Natalie, my daughter, Christa, my son, Josh, and my two grandchildren, Evelyn Marie and Margaret Ann. I also like to go Fly fishing for trout in East Tennessee and Western North Carolina.

What do you do for exercise and how often do you do it?

I religiously attend Orange Theory workouts and I  typically will do this six to seven days a week. Sometimes I will take a day off if feeling excessively fatigued or if I’ve had a long day in surgery.

What do you listen to in your car?

I will frequently listen to news stations. I also often listen to Sirius Radio, especially 70s and 80s stations.

What was your first job, what did you learn from it and how much was your first paycheck?

My first job was a lifeguard. I don’t recall what the first paycheck was but it certainly wasn’t very much, in that I think I made about $3 or $4 an hour.

What is in your fridge right now?

There is usually not much in the fridge, in that my wife and mother-in-law make things fresh, so there typically are not a lot of things being stored in the refrigerator, as far as I know. I do know that there are some green grapes, which I love.

What is your favorite thing to snack on?

My favorite thing to snack on is usually fruit; apples, cantaloupe, watermelon, bananas, peaches as long as they’re ripe and of good quality.

Where do you shop for clothes and who is your favorite designer?

My shirts are Tailored by Proper Cloth; Brunello Cucinelli is a favorite and well as Tom Ford and Zegna. In shoes I like Louis Vuitton and cologne I like Tom
Ford and Clive Christian. I’m a big fan of light, fresh smelling fragrances.

If you had $5000 to invest, what would you do with it?

I’ve learned to focus on what I do well and that is eye surgery. I am now wise enough to let those more knowledgeable in money investment handle that. Sometimes even the money managers have a hard time and I know my limits. Although, I may invest it back into myself in the sense of purchasing new equipment to better perform eye exams and surgical procedures.

Do you have a favorite quote?

My favorite quote is “You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take” by Wayne Gretzky.

Who inspired you as a child?

As a child, my mother encouraged me to be like my family physician, Dr. R.S. Birckhead. I was also inspired by a great basketball player near my hometown in West Virginia. His name is Jerry West. He played for the Los Angeles Lakers. I’m sure you’ve heard of him. He grew up in a small town near Gauley Bridge called Cabin Creek, West Virginia.

What was the best advice your parents ever gave you?

The best advice they gave me was to study hard and make straight A’s, or at least try to. And always try to excel at whatever I did, whether it was in academics or athletics.

What is your favorite thing to do locally?

I always enjoy eating out at Civilization and Afternoon. I also enjoy eating at Embers and Mark’s Prime. I enjoy working out at Orange Theory. And of course, I enjoy attending athletic events to watch the Gators play basketball and football.

Where is your favorite weekend escape to?

My favorite weekend escape is to our condo that we recently purchased in Water Sound near Rosemary Beach in the western panhandle. We also love going to Blackberry Farm, which is a resort about 30 miles from Knoxville, TN.

What country would you like to visit and why?

Well, I have been to Italy once and my wife and I loved going there. My wife is Italian and my favorite food is Italian. I would also like to visit Scotland and Ireland and England, in that my roots are Scotch-Irish. I have yet to go there, but that is certainly on my bucket list.

What is your favorite movie and why?

My favorite movie, I believe, has got to be Rocky, as I really like Sylvester Stallone and the character he portrayed in Rocky.

Are you a dog or cat person, or both?

I am definitely not a cat person and I love dogs. I currently have a dog named Dolce. She’s an Italian Truffle dog, or more specifically Lagotto Romagnolo.

What is your favorite meal?

I love anything Italian, especially manicotti, ravioli and homemade pasta. I’m also a lover of veal parmesan, especially when done with high quality veal.

What have you always wanted to do but never done?

I have always fantasized about flying airplanes, but I’ve never acted on that fantasy. I was once told that the worst pilots are doctors and attorneys.

What gadget or app do you love and why?

The app that comes to mind is Waze. It always gets you where you need to go with the quickest most efficient route and lets you know if there are any radar traps lurking near.

What advice would you give your younger self?

Save money and invest in yourself.

What is the one bit of luxury you can’t live without?

That has to be automobiles. Automobiles are my vice. I love to drive a nice, fast car, but also one that is comfortable.

What is your favorite TV show and why?

Although I have many, one of my most favorites is Homeland because the character Carrie Mathison is very entertaining in her role as a CIA agent who has bipolar illness. I also very much enjoy the series on Showtime called Billions.

Where do you donate unwanted things to?

We have a housekeeper who is from Central America and we give her many things that she is able to send back home. I also will give some of my shirts that I don’t wear that often to some young men I know who enjoy dressing nicely.

Do you wear a regular watch or an Apple watch and why?

Actually, I wear both in that I like the Apple watch because of the data that is provides me and how I’m able to follow my calorie burn and steps. I also have a
couple dress watches that I wear when I go out to dinner or on dates with my wife.

What was your first car, what do you drive now and what would be your dream car?

My first car was a Chevrolet Monza and it was actually blue, similar color to the car I drive now, which is a 2019 Mercedes Benz AMG GT53. I actually have three dream cars…Ferrari, Bentley Continental 2 door coupe and lastly a Ford Raptor pickup.