-->

Local Celebrity Spotlight Meet Terry Martin-Back

Terry Martin-Back is the Associate Broker at Exit Realty Producers, a general contractor and a former Cavalry Scout for the US Army. He is not only well known in our area for his real estate work, but also for his fundraising efforts for Peaceful Paths and other charities.

Where are you from?

I grew up in Northern Indiana.

Where did you go to school?

My college education was from different colleges while stationed at different Army bases and outpost. To name a few; St Leo University, Central Texas, University of Michigan, Barton County Community College.

Why did you move to this area?

While stationed at Ft. Stewart, Georgia, one of my barracks buddies asked me if I wanted to go to Gainesville Florida with him for the weekend to do a little partying and play some pick-up soccer on Sunday. We caught up with his uncle who we were going to be staying with who was painting a girl’s kitchen. Just as we were getting ready to leave, this little blue-eyed brunette walks through the door. I married her 39 years ago, we traveled around the country and overseas and came back home to Gainesville in 1996.

How do you relax?

Sitting on the couch at night with headphones on listening to some heavy metal rock, alternative or blues with a dram of Scotch close by.

Where do you like to go for a weekend getaway and why?

We like to cruise. With so many ports available in Florida, it’s easy to catch a last-minute cruise to the Caribbean or Mexico. We like Celebrity cruise line and go for 3 to 4 nights. A few of our favorite stops are to Costa Maya and Belize. One thing we always stock up on while over there is, Marie Sharpe Hot sauce from Belize.

What do you listen to in your car?

Talk radio on the Sky, or Alternative rock

What was your first job, what did you learn from it and how much was your first pay check?

I grew up on the farm so when I was old enough, I worked with other farmers in the area; bailing hay, cleaning out barn stalls. A typical day of work, (back in the 60’s), I made .75-$1.00 per hour, working all day for $7-$10.

What is in your fridge right now?

Lots of vegetables, soy milk, goat and sheep cheese and a couple of bottles of Riesling as it’s my wife’s favorite wine.

What is your favorite thing to snack on?

Nuts, nacho chips and salsa or gluten free crackers and goat cheddar or brie cheese.

If you had $5000 to investment what would you do with it?

Buy some tax deeds and force them to sale.

Do you have a favorite quote?

The maximum effective range of an excuse is zero!

Who inspired you as a child?

My Grandfather, lived almost like pioneers in southeastern Kentucky, farmed with mules and lived off the land. He taught me the value and rewards of hard work.

What was the best advice your parents ever gave you?

Always work to the best of your ability… if a job is worth doing, it’s worth doing it right.

What is your favorite thing to do locally?

Riding the trails around the area on my bicycle and attending the Gainesville Community Playhouse, the Hippodrome, Phillips Center and the Acrosstown Repertory Theatre.

What is your favorite movie and why?

“Summer of ‘42,” as you know, I’m a combat veteran who comes from a long line of men who served our country. My uncle died in France during WWII and the movie depicts what was happening with young boys during the war and the how loved ones received notice of the death of their soldier. Heartwarming and funny.

What is your favorite meal?

I like to cook, smoked ribs, sweet potato fries and greens.

What have you always wanted to do but never done?

Get licensed to drive a top fuel dragster and go through the traps at over 200 mph.

What gadget or app, do you love and why?

I love Youtube, put my headphones on and listen or sit behind my drums and make a lot of noise…

What advice would you give your younger self?

Apply yourself in school and look beyond what you have right in front of you.

What is the one bit of luxury you can’t live without?

The ability to travel.

What is your favorite TV show and why?

I don’t have one.. TV is a big waste of time and rather boring. I would rather be listening to music, write or just read a book or something on the internet.

Where do you donate unwanted things to?

Towels and linens go to Peaceful Paths, Furniture and household items go to Habitat for Humanity or Hospice Attic, clothes to Salvation Army.

Do you wear a regular watch or an Apple Watch and why?

I don’t wear a watch; I have my phone.

What was your first car, what do you drive now, and what would be your dream car?

At the age of 16 my real first vehicle was a 1966 Ford Custom. At 17 I had a 1969 Dodge Super Bee 6-Pack that I raced. What I drive now is a Toyota Pick-up or a Chevy Impala. My future dream car is a C-6 Corvette Z06.