-->

Local Celebrity Spotlight: Meet Kim Stinton: Business Woman, Wife and Mom!

Kim and her husband Andy own The Floor Store of Newberry and have always been active with events in their area. They have advertised with Good Life Community Magazine for 12 years. As we are always taking their daughter Alexa’s photo, we thought it would be interesting to get to know Kim.

Where are you from, when did you move to Newberry, and why?

I was born and raised in St. Augustine, Florida. I left home to go to the University of Florida. I ended up in Marietta, Georgia, and together with my husband, Andy, we moved down to Newberry in 2000. We were both from Florida and wanted to move back to Florida. After living just outside of Atlanta for so long, we really wanted to move to a smaller town and open up our own business. My mom is from Newberry, and one of my brothers lives in Newberry, so Newberry it was. Growing up, we always came here on the weekends and during the summer to see my grandmother, so the town was very familiar to me, and Andy loved all the farmland around. In Marietta, I taught school and Andy worked in flooring. He is a 2nd generation flooring installer. Together, we opened a small, retail store in Marietta, and I worked there some in the afternoons and on weekends, but I mainly took care of the accounting books. For years, we talked about opening up a larger store and working at it full time together. The plan was to save every dime we made, sell our rental properties that we had acquired over the years, and for me to “retire” from teaching so that we could build what we would later name The Floor Store of Newberry.

How did you meet your husband?

Andy and I met when I was teaching at a school in Marietta, where I taught deaf children. His son, Drew, was in kindergarten in one of the classes next to mine. We actually talked one day when he was picking him up from school and the rest they say is history. We’ve been married now for 25 years and now, that kindergartener works for us and has grown up to be one of our best installers!

How do you relax?

Wow, relax? What’s that?? Well, we’ve been introduced to the world of RV camping and we really enjoy hitting the road in our RV. I have always enjoyed traveling and I seem to be the most relaxed when I get completely away from it all.

Where do you like to go for a weekend getaway and why?

My favorite place to go is not really a specific place but a destination, which is the beach. I do enjoy the east coastline and long walks with my toes in the sand.

What do you listen to in your car?

I have such a wide range of genres depending on my mood. Sometimes, I will listen to classic rock on the WND FM. I am a big Bob Seger fan and I also like classic southern rock. I also really like country too, so I
may go for days and only listen to country, but then there are times when I will listen to talk radio on WSKY-FM.

What is your favorite movie and why?

For years, my very favorite movie was Gone with the Wind. I just love that movie. I love how determined Scarlett was and how she, in spite of everything, just kept going, but then along came Sense and Sensibility. I really like watching British movies that are set back in the 1700 and 1800’s. Those type of movies are really my favorite.

What is your favorite meal?

I enjoy a good steak with fresh vegetables and a salad. The only thing I could add to that to make it a little more complete would be snow crab legs with some melted garlic butter. Wow, I think I will put back my pork chops tonight and go to the grocery store! I just made myself hungry!

What have you always wanted to do but never done?

I’ve always wanted to travel over to Europe, specifically Switzerland or Austria. I know that part of the country is just beautiful. I think it would be a wonderful experience to live somewhere like that for a short time, but maybe not now with everything that is going on in the world today.

What gadget can’t you live without and why?

I really don’t like to admit this, but probably my phone. I like having my Android phone just for the convenience of it and now that our daughter is 16 and driving, I like having it even more. I feel better knowing that I am only a phone call away if she were to need me. Having apps on it, such as Life 360, lets me track her every move and it even tells me how fast she is driving. That’s just amazing to me. She calls it stalking…I call it amazing.

What has been an eye opening, or funniest moment at work and why?

There are so many of those….we have had quite a few funny moments here, but I guess the most eye opening has been the local support of the community here since we opened 17 years ago. It was just wonderful to me how when we opened, the people of Newberry and the surrounding communities came to us in support of our business. I can’t count how many times we have heard someone say that they would rather shop and buy local.

What was your first car and what do you drive now?

When I started college, my mom bought me a brown Toyota Datsun 5 speed. It was a really cute, used car that I drove for years. Now, I drive a black Chevrolet Tahoe and always say the only way I will get another vehicle is if I get another Tahoe. I am definitely an SUV kind of girl.

What was your first job, what did you learn from it, and how much was your first pay check?

I was 14, almost 15 years old when I had my first job, and it was in a small fudge/cookie shop on St. George Street in St. Augustine. I loved working there. We made homemade fudge on marble tables and made cookies from scratch and baked everything right there in the little shop. It always smelled so good in there and it was interesting meeting so many people from so many different places. I enjoyed working the register and talking to all the different people that would come in. I guess I learned patience. Anytime you work in the service industry with tourists from all over, you need to have a lot of patience, as well as a steady work ethic. I wouldn’t say it was hard work, but it wasn’t really easy either. I really do not recall how much I made an hour. It wasn’t
much, I do remember that – but I was grateful to even have a job at that age.

What is in your fridge right now?

My fridge is a mess! It is one of the French door refrigerators that has a deli drawer. The deli drawer has all of our daughter’s food for her school lunches and the rest of the fridge has everything from 2% organic milk, our own, homegrown brown eggs, to a package of pork
chops for tonight’s dinner! We also have watermelon, cantaloupes and grapes. It really is a mess though. I would be embarrassed to show you, so I’m glad I don’t have to.

If you had $5000 to invest, what would you do with it?

Any time I may have a chunk of cash, the first thing I think of is real estate. I love real estate. I’m not a big stock market player. I have been in the past, but I think because I don’t quite understand it that well it makes me really nervous. I used to have several stocks over the years, like Home Depot, Dollar General, and Jet Blue, but I didn’t make out too well with it, so I just stick to real estate. We would like to try our hand at building a small spec house and selling it, so $5k could be a good start for a small lot to build on.

Do you have a favorite quote?

A very wise person (my mom) once said to me, “If you don’t know what to do about something, then do nothing at all.” That has really resonated with me over the years. I have found that to be a very helpful and true insight when trying to make decisions in my life. It has caused me to literally stop and take a step back and not to make rash decisions. Sometimes it just seems better to let things naturally work themselves out.

Who inspired you as a child?

My mom. Definitely my mom. She is such a strong and independent woman. I don’t think my mom ever set out to be that way, it was out of just pure, hard work and necessity. My parents divorced when I was around 10 years old and she became both mother and father to 3 kids. She worked a full-time job, ended up going to college at night to get her BA, and all the while, keeping her full-time day job. My dad was around a little right after the divorce and eventually remarried, and that was basically the end of that, but she was always there 100% of the time. I think that sometimes when a child loses a parent when they are young like that, it could be very easy to feel abandoned or fall into the victim of circumstance category, but my mom never led us to feel that way. She just continued to march on and did what needed to be done. I never really knew we didn’t have any money until I was gone and out of the house. I realized how much she must of struggled to get us the things we needed for school and all of my after school activities I was involved with.
To this day she still inspires me.

What is your favorite thing to do locally?

I love going out to dinner at different, local restaurants. Trying different places and different food is just fun to me. I love Embers, Peppers, Yamatos, and Lighthouse Restaurant in Fanning Springs. I also love going to matinée movies at the new theatre at Butler Plaza and sitting in the recliners.

What is your favorite thing to snack on?

Anything chocolate! I love chocolate covered nuts, snickers, and regular coke. I also like cheese – Havarti or Brie cheese and Town House crackers with a glass of red wine. Merlot is my favorite and then Pinot. I just found a Southern Red wine called Lakeridge that
is good.

What advice would you give your younger self?

Maybe I would advise my younger self to just slow down and enjoy the ride a little more.